Outlander book series

Outlander So Much to Read

Outlander So Much to Read

If you come a little late to the party, like me, you’ll no doubt feel very lucky. Not for us the 20 odd years wait to see our beloved characters on the screen, yes, very lucky indeed. No interminable wait for years to be able to buy the next book in the series. We have eight big books (or as author Diana Gabaldon call them “big, enormous books”) to read, many smaller ones (which fit inside the storylines of the big books) and two (at least) seasons of TV to engage with, nay, binge on.
If you are just starting out on this journey, spurred on by the stunning TV series, Outlander, you may be wondering about the book titles and their order. Here it is:-

1 – Outlander (originally published as Cross Stitch) – Series 1 (parts 1 and 2) of the TV show

2 – Dragonfly In Amber – Series 2 of the TV show

3 – Voyager –  Season 3 of the TV show

4 – Drums of Autumn –  Season 4 of TV show

5 – The Fiery Cross – Season 5 of the TV show (does include several stories from book 6)

6 – A Breath of Snow and Ashes

7 – An Echo In The Bone

8 – Written In My Own Heart’s Blood

9 – Yes, there is definitely a book 9 – a current work in progress. It now has a title “Go Tell The Bees That I Have Gone”

10 – a book 10 has been promised too.


The chronology of the entire Outlander series and the additional novellas is available on Diana Gabaldon’s website. Here is the link. http://www.dianagabaldon.com